Select Page

Ten undergraduate education majors presented during Celebration of Scholarship Day on Friday, April 26th at the Winona Campus. Presentations topics included the following:

  • The Scholarship of Teaching: One size does not fit all. Creating a positive learning environment by getting to know students—Kiernan Dunham and Mariah D’Souza
  • The Scholarship of Teaching: Not the answer, but a tool. Effective use of technology to enhance learning—Jessica Bauer
  • The Scholarship of Teaching: Observe, think, decide. Using reflection to create a positive learning environment for students—Anna Washburn
  • The Scholarship of Teaching: It’s not just a feeling. Using student data to inform instruction—Brynn Spitzer
  • The Scholarship of Teaching: “One and done” does not work. Varying instructional strategies to meet student needs—Aleaha Zabel
  • The Scholarship of Teaching: See the child in front of you. Differentiating to meet the needs of every student—Marissa Kinzer
  • The Scholarship of Teaching: Plan, try, reflect, repeat. The power of reflection in professional growth and development—Brady Weber
  • The Scholarship of Teaching: Find out what they know! Documenting student learning in assessment to guide instruction—Amanda Kintz

Students were advised by Melissa Luedtke, Karen Sorvaag, Jan Olson, Betsy Donahue, Scott Sorvaag, Rod Schwarz, and David Jackson

An Honors Convocation for seniors was held at the end of the day. One of the awards presented is the De La Salle Outstanding Preservice Teacher Award. The description of the award follows:

The honoree demonstrates a commitment to academic achievement, effective performance in the field, and strong reflective capacity (as demonstrated by performance on the Teacher Performance Assessment). The honoree also exhibits deeply held values and beliefs reflected in our university mission, virtues of a good teacher, and shared purposes in the School of Education. The award is designated for a teacher candidate who exemplifies a full commitment to becoming a highly effective teacher leader in the Lasallian tradition.

This award honors the work and legacy of Saint John Baptist de la Salle, Patron Saint of Teachers and founder of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools. The De La Salle Outstanding Preservice Teacher Award is given to teacher candidates who have completed, or are in the process of completing, their student teaching experience. Award candidates are nominated and selected by education faculty.

This year’s award winners are Brynn Spitzer and Anna Washburn.